And so it begins…

I was watching the movie Julie and Julia not too long ago and it got me thinking about the whole “blogging” thing.  I didn’t really know what a blog was, or why someone would do it, until I watched that movie.  Then, also not too long ago, someone at my work told me they loved a poem that I wrote for our work Christmas party and suggested that I start a blog (about work, that is).  Now, again, just recently, my oldest and dearest best friend’s hubby decided to start blogging about being a stay-at-home-dad.  And, so my story–or rather, my blog–begins…well, sort of…

My story has been beginning, over and over and over again.  I’ve found myself coining the phrase…”single working mom”…and as I say it, I think, yes, Kasey, you are a single working mom.  How did it all happen? So, I figured as I’m learning about what and why this is my life, I, too, could blog about the trials and tribulations SWM-hood brings.  Not only would this be a way to expel some of the pent up stress I feel on a day-to-day basis, but it may also allow me to connect with other women, past and present, who live this life.

Julie and Julia also made me want to start cooking more…but as a SWM…time is limited, and while I completely and whole-heartedly love my job, I’m not quite sure I could blog about it, at least not yet.  But the one thing that does consume most of my everydaywakingminutes is the newly dominating acronym that I’m trying to befriend, SWM. Single Working Mom. Single Working Mom.  SWM.

I don’t know what, if anything, I hope to accomplish by blogging…but then again, maybe it’s one small way of doing something for myself that I do have time for… Chuckle, roll my eyes, hold my breath… And, so it begins…

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

3 thoughts on “And so it begins…”

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere! This is great. The best part of it is all the people that you will meet. Especially at WordPress, there seems to be a real sense of community among the parenting peeps. Reading other people’s blogs and getting involved in their conversations is about as rewarding as writing itself.

    We’ll have to check out that movie. Sounds interesting.

Now I'd love to hear from you...

