Soccer Dads, I Love You

I’ve found a new way to go to and from my daughter, Maycee’s, school each day.  I love the drive as I don’t have to so much as look at a freeway.  With plenty of time to mosey the streets in the Little Black Stallion I shift my eyes from side to side, viewing the rolling hills and horses in the pasture for eight miles, then dreamily view the farm houses and ranch-style homes for another five miles or so before I hit the main part of town.  Once crossing the avenue the road twists into tract neighborhoods and then passes a park where typically families are playing and games are in motion. 

Now that I work until 5:30PM every day and cannot pick up Maycee until 6:00PM I see the goings on of after school sports.  Yesterday, as I took in the panoramic view, I watched little tiny legs kicking waytolarge soccer balls as best as they could in circles and stumbles, one child to another.  I saw a dad maneuvering the ball back into the mix, doing his best to instruct the teammates on the basics.  Off to the side I caught sight another dad with his little girl on his shoulders cheering on the brothers and sisters…learning and having fun. 

There’s something about a man who takes his fatherhood seriously, loves his kids, is involved in their lives, and seems completely filled with joy over it that makes me well up with tears-only for a moment-without being able to stop it, and I think to myself, “Wow.  How lucky is that?”

Soccer dads, I love you!

Kudos to the men who love their women, love their children, and show it.

 

 

2 responses

Now I'd love to hear from you...

