SWM’s Tuesday Tidbits & Tips

In an effort to keep learning and growing as an individual, as well as a parent, I’m going to try something new with my blog.  Welcome to SWM’s Tuesday Tidbits & Tips.  Let me know if you like this, Readers!

SWM’s Tuesday Tidbits & Tips #1:

sleeping too little can not only inhibit your productivity and ability to remember and consolidate information, but lack of sleep can also lead to serious health consequences and jeopardize your safety and the safety of individuals around you.**

Short sleep duration is linked with:

  • Increased risk of motor vehicle accidents
  • Increase in body mass index – a greater likelihood of obesity due to an increased appetite caused by sleep deprivation
  • Increased risk of diabetes and heart problems
  • Increased risk for psychiatric conditions including depression and substance abuse
  • Decreased ability to pay attention, react to signals or remember new information

I’m guessing that Kobe Bryant is getting a decent amount of rest to be shooting 40 plus points “at his age” ( ancient at 33).  Getting enough sleep is critical when it comes to being prepared-for anything. Me…well, I push the hours until I am running into the 25th dimension (if you know what I mean). But, for this new year I’ve decided that I must, must, must make sleeping a priority in my life-not a sidebar. Therefore, my goal is to be in or near my bed by 11:00 at night. Most adults need between seven and nine hours of sleep to be fully rested, so with a wake-up time of 7:00AM (well, after my first wake-up time of 5:00AM to feed the dogs), this makes for a good eight hours.  This doesn’t account for the days when Maycee awakes at the crack of dawn ready to build tents and go to the neighbor’s to play, but you know…horseshoes and hand grenades,  to coin one of my boss’s favorite phrases.

My tip for making this happen? Realize this: the world will not stop turning if chores are left undone.  Ever.  It will not happen.  Period.  End of lightbulb moment.

One of the hardest things for this mom is to do is leave dirty dishes in the sink, papers on the counter, or toys, clothes, and whatnot piled on the floor. However, assuming Martha Stuart isn’t going to come over on a school night and perform the white glove test, I think it’s safe to say that the latter can wait, and this SWM can get to bed on time.  I make it a priority for my daughter, knowing full-well that when she isn’t rested life is rough (on me, particularly).  It’s time Mom did the same; it’s time Mom did it now.

The payoff? Well, read the full article published by the National Sleep Foundation to see what they say…or…you can follow my lead and get the results first hand. And, me?  I’ll keep following Kobe…at least for the rest of this short basketball season and see just how many points I can score.  At the very least I’ll be feelin’ a lot better with each passing game.

Here’s to the ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZz’s!

**National Sleep Foundation

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

3 thoughts on “SWM’s Tuesday Tidbits & Tips”

  1. I’m always up for a tip! I like it!! And I never feel like I get enough sleep. Keep ’em coming! So, you’re a big BBall fan as well? My Noah loves & plays BBall as well. Last weekend his dad took him to see the Wizards play the 76ers in Washington. They’ve been to a couple of Nicks games this season as well.

    1. Great! I’m glad you like the post! I’ve been wanting to do a “tips” day for quite awhile now. 🙂 And, yes, I LOVE bball. If I would’ve had any nerve to play anything in school, it would’ve been bball. Instead, I’ll shoot some hoops when I can and watch the Lakers as much as possible! This is my first year being able to afford the Direct TV programming that has the regional sports channels line up, too! Yay! Thanks for reading and commenting, Karen. XOXO

      ________________________________

Now I'd love to hear from you...

