Sometimes today is the day (ponytails, pics, and giving)

I just did something that I don’t do very often…I donated to a cause.  It’s not that I don’t believe in “causes”, quite the opposite.  It’s just that as I try to ensure there is food on the table and clothes on our backs I don’t feel as though I have the extra resources to contribute outside of my inner circle.  I choose where I give carefully when I have the ability to do so. 

But, this morning I was getting ready for work and decided to put my hair into a ponytail, which is also something I don’t do very often.  Maycee walked into the bathroom and asked, “Are you going to work like that?”  I said, “Yah, why?” She got all welled up with excitement, smiling brightly and exclaimed, “I like it!  I like it!  I’ve been wanting you to go to work like that since I was in Kindergarten!”  I said, “Oh, well, good.  I’m doing it today then!”

Next up was putting on mascara.  Now, Readers, I wear so little make-up that I can barely be called “made up”, if you know what I mean, but I do like my lashes lookin’ a bit longer and my cheeks to be pink (as I was taught by Mom that it makes us at least “look” healthy).  Maycee watched intently after brushing her teeth and said this: Now why do you feel you need to do that?! I don’t see why you feel you need to wear make-up.  I answered, “Well, because Mommy’s eyelashes are not long and beautiful naturally like yours are, Sweetie, nor are my cheeks as rosy.”  Maycee retorted, “Well, I think you are beautiful just the way you are!” Just writing this puts a lump in my throat and brings tears to my eyes.

Being on my lunch break at work and catching up on my blog reading, I couldn’t wait to read Chris’s (…from the bungalow) post from yesterday Blissfully Bald: Why my wife and I decided to shave our headsAs I read and followed the links something inside me said, “You have a vibrant, healthy daughter whom you love to pieces, and who loves you unconditionally.  This is such a gift in and of itself. Kasey, show your gratitude today by paying it forward.”  I connected to Chris’s blog, and I connected for many reasons…this is revealing itself as one of them. 

I have been intending to post pictures from Maycee’s wonderful birthday week for many days now, and I believe it is no coincidence that I finally was able to publish them today (thanks for helping me last night, my awesome b.f.) Children are the light of the world, Maycee is the light of my life.  Her words precious, her spirit infectious, her insight incomparable.  Please visit Chris’s post via the link above, and may your heart be touched and moved just as mine.  Maycee’s 8th birthday was so much fun, and I’m grateful I can look forward to next year’s. I love the phrase Life is a gift, that’s why we call it the present.

52 cookies for the Boys & Girls Club
Happy Birthday Girl, Happy Mommy!
Louisy, gettin' in on the birthday fun
Ready for the party, Mom!
Horses riding in the breeze made for a beautiful birthday card
And...make a wish!

 Readers, may you count your blessings today, have a wonderful weekend, and remember: life is short, be happy, and give a chuckle.

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.