SWM’s Tuesday Tidbits & Tips-St. Valentine on a budget

You’ve heard this before: Nothing says “I love you” like a diamond.  Or this one (must sing in head): Every kiss begins with Kay.  Or, maybe you’ve been told this (eh hem!), “Dude, that’s all you got her?”  Perhaps you’re faced with this scenario: Hear ye, hear ye!  The class Valentine’s Day party will be at 1:00. Please feel free to bring 25 juice boxes and enough snacks to share (checking wallet only to find lint).  With each passing phrase, commercial, and CVS ad rings dollar signs, and does anybody really know why we celebrate Valentine’s Day anyways?

Well, I went ahead and looked it up, and let me tell you this, I couldn’t even BEGIN to sort it out, let alone explain its roots without completely botching up the truth.  If you’re interested, feel free to check out this link to Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valentine’s_Day.  I can give you hint-it didn’t start out as a romantic day for lovers but rather a day to celebrate the many different Roman Catholic Saint Valentines!

Bottom line: it is another holiday.  Wrapped within the sensationalism that has now grasped the months of Halloween all the way through Easter (perhaps we could just call the period of time Hallothankchrisvaleaster), Valentine’s Day has become and continues to beg so much more than just a special day to share “I love you’s”, whisper sweet nothings, and exchange paper hearts. Or, should I clarify, it becomes more if we CHOOSE to let it.

I didn’t make that choice.  Of course, as the years increase and my income seems to decrease, this is probably a forced blessing, but one I’m welcoming as I grow to appreciate the simplicity of living simply and simply living.  My boyfriend and I imbibed in a quiet dinner at his place Saturday night for our little early celebration without the kids-steak and lobster for around a twenty-dollar bill ’cause he cooked it!  Me, I contributed by making a chocolate cream cheese pie-most of which were ingredients I already had in the cupboard-delectable!  Cha-ching!  Now, my guy had a few more tricks up his sleeve, but truthfully, I was in happy heaven stopping right there.

Sure, I bought Maycee and my number one man little gifts that were fun, but these mementos certainly didn’t have a rare shimmer or triple digit price tag.  The looming cloud over my head had more to do with the 25 mouths expecting to be fed at party time tomorrow.  I had to let it go. I had to realize that the kids will have fun no matter if I provide the mango juice and Cheeze Its or not.  So, Maycee and I sat at the table tonight and wrote out her little classmate Valentines, and I didn’t fret that they weren’t the kind with the puzzles or suckers or stickers or IPods attached. It went smoothly, and it was enough.  When we were done with the 25 handwriting assignments, we made our own Valentines.  The old-fashioned way.  Paper hearts for special people in our lives that we will see up close and personal and also some to share with those who may not know they are loved.  All that was needed: some construction paper from the Dollar Tree, markers, stickers we already had, glitter glue, or anything else that could serve as a decoration.  Mayee’s exact words as we cut, pasted, and colored were: THIS IS THE BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE!  Wow, I asked, “Why?”  She replied, “Because we’re having craft night and making things, and it’s fun!”

Nothing says “I love you” like…Kay…eat your heart out.

I heart you!

Now, here are some samples to enjoy…I bet you can’t help but smile!  Whether celebrating the Saints, the romance, or just seeing red, Happy Valentine’s Day, Readers.  Tell me, how are you all going to spread the love? ♥♥♥♥

14 responses

  1. Those are the best Valentine’s Day cards I’ve seen in ages!! Well done, Kasey and Maycee!! I hope you both enjoy your day, lots of love from The Great White North and the Madhouse!!

    • Thanks so much, Holly! I’m sorry to say that this morning lil’ Maycee woke up with a nasty cold and has to miss all of the festivities at school and our heart-shaped pizza dinner we planned. But, she’s wearing her Valentine’s Day PJ’s right now watching the tube. 🙂 Thanks for the love, and back atcha!

      ________________________________

  2. I think that is great that you and your daughter made homemade valentines. The kids love this stuff and i think it is important to keep them creative there is to much done electronically these days.

  3. We made homemade valentines too! The kids can’t get enough of stuff like that, they love this holiday. I even made one for my husband and hid it under his pillow. I never usually celebrate this day, but I got into the spirit a little seeing my kids so happy. Happy Valentine’s Day to you!

    • That is terrific, Darla. I hope your hubby appreciated it! I think that is way more special than anything from a store, and I’m glad you were able to get into the spirit. I love how our kids help us with that-the same goes for me with Maycee. In the end it makes for a much happier life! Happy Valentine’s Day to you, too. ♥♥♥

      ________________________________

  4. It’s sad, Kasey how commercialized everything, like you said, from Halloween to Easter, has become. I too prefer to keep it simply & made Hannah’s favorite dinner in celebration. Earlier in the day I did take advantage of my love for tea parties however & poured out the love for Hannah & her classmates at a Valentine’s Tea I threw for them at school. Since it’s her last year there, I wanted to do something special for them. There are only 10 of them & I inherited all of the tea-dishes so w/ a little help from her teachers we just brought in a few treats….

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/media./set/?set=a.10150619277469040.410576.128615074039&type=3

    I love Maycee’s valentines! Hannah always gives home-made cards for every occasion They are the best!

    • Karen, that sounds terrific! I tried the FB link, though, and it didn’t work, so perhaps you can email me a picture. I love tea, too (go figure), although I’ve only actually been to one bonifed tea party. (One of my favorite posts of yours is about the tea leaves). But, keeping it simple for the holidays is becoming more and more a focus for me as I continue to pare down the ins and outs of my life. I love celebrating them, and think that holidays serve a good purpose for helping us remember to smell the roses, so-to-speak. We just have to work extra hard as parents to keep it all in check! Hugs, and have a great weekend! XOXO

Now I'd love to hear from you...

