YOU crack me up!

I thought I was wrong once, but I was mistaken.

Thank you, Jeff (Five Things At Once), for giving me the LOL Award!  This is not only appreciated but totally ironic.  I had NO idea what LOL stood for when I first saw it used in a text message, sent to me by my boyfriend, almost two years ago (who has also spoken the above quote in jest, and I just love the line…every time).  I literally thought it was “lol, lol, lol” pronounced fully (lawl-for example) and that it was supposed to the give the impression of going on and on and on (which I’m known to do-let out a deep breath of surprise; it’s okay).  Yes, I was that “illiterate” to the texting world and what later carried over into Facebooking.  I’d see the term (term used loosely here) on Facebook posts, and still I wondered-what the heck?  OH-to my own headslapping, place the big finger “L” on my head-BROTHER, KASEY, did I feel like a total idiot when I read or saw or realized via Disney Channel that LOL stood for Laugh Out Loud.

Now, I love using the acronym frequently to express the hilariousness of what I’m thinking, and I think hilariously often.  In conjunction I use many ha-ha’s and hee-hee’s, but I have not graduated to the more adult version of LMAO or the even more adult version, which I can’t bear to write without feeling like a hypocrite when I tell Maycee that Mommy doesn’t use the “F” word.  And, nothing makes me happier in the blogosphere than to know that somewhere out THERE I’m bringing a LOL smile to someone’s face, perhaps making someone’s world a little brighter if only for a moment, and also encouraging laughter in spite of the world itself.  I suppose this is because I’ve had to learn to do this under my own individual circumstance, saying “no” to the frown and doing my best to turn it upside down. Or, in more extreme cases saying “no” to the horrible, blubbering, feelingsorryformyself crying spell and looking at my puffed-up face in the mirror, splashing water on it, and yelling, “Snap out of it, Woman! Geez!”  Chocolate helps…but I digress (LOL).

Here are the bloggers I wish to pay forward this award…a couple of whom are new to me (The Lucky Mom and Transitioning Mom) but have already made my eyes perk up when their posts arrive to my in-box each week.  Not every one writes with knee-slapping bravado (although others most certainly do (“She’s a Maineiac, Maineiac on the floor!”), but in simply relating we can chuckle.  Please pay them a visit, as this SWM is not only a poster child for single mommies throughout the land but for mommies and parents everywhere.  We learn from each other, and we laugh TOGETHER-out loud.  Click the links, and prepare to feel the lift!

1.  She’s a Maineiac

2.  Taking the World on With a Smile

3.  Surviving the Madhouse

4.  The Lucky Mom

5.  Transitioning Mom

This has been a terrific experience…to challenge myself to finish the assignment AND follow directions!  Thanks, again, Jeff. And, to those of you who crack me up and those of who inspire me to keep writing, which would be ALL OF YOU-let’s begin the week like this: HahahahahahahahahHA! Ohhhhh, yeah!  Feels good-doesn’t it?  Life is short, Readers, so be happy and give a chuckle.

Now here you go:

As with all blog awards, there are rules and such. Here are the LOL Award rules (copied from Jeff at Five Things At Once):

  1. Post the LOL (laugh out loud, for you non-texters out there) badge on your blog
  2. Write a post that includes the following: a) a thank you to the person who gave you the award (include a link to their blog) b) a clean joke or limerick (just look one up and copy it into your post if you don’t know one- it can even be a knock knock joke!) c) a list of five other blogs (linked) that you’re giving the award to- so we can find more laughs
  3. Notify the five other blogs that you’ve given them the award and explain to them that they need to copy and paste these instructions on their blog… and complete them
  4. And, I think that’s it.  This should be a compliment and simple to do… and help to spread the laughs around.

Yes.  Indeed!

9 responses

  1. This has to be one of the best awards. I love it. There is nothing like knowing I make someone laugh. Thank you so much for the shout out! I already follow Transitioning Mom so now I’ll be sure to check out the others you mentioned.

  2. Pingback: Introducing: the LOL-award. « Ralphie´s Portal

Now I'd love to hear from you...

