I’m going to bed to dream

Finally well from the nasty virus that swooped in to steal my energy for two solid weeks, and coming off of what was a busy past weekend regardless, I have not one but way too many thoughts and ideas swirling around and around my brain.  Yet, I feel compelled to write at least enough that anyone who reads, checks in, and follows this little blog might know that I’m thinking of them.  Even in the midst of swirling, I’m thinking of you.

From ex-husbands visiting to attend Maycee’s Sight Read Aloud contest last Saturday, to children building tents in bedrooms, and first-run Praise Nights filling the fellowship hall at my new church with 35 to 40 people raising their hands and smiling deeply with affection, craving a different light that has crept into the building, to working my second job after finishing the first each night with no excuses now that I’m healthy, to cousins passing away, and worrying about the needle in the haystack, all my brain can do is yearn to retire into my little starry-skied bedroom.

I’m going to put on my mis-matched PJ’s; I might even cry a few tears from exhaustion, and then I’m heading off to a place I cannot wait to go.  At the ranch tomorrow I’ll be able to ride “my” horse for the first time in four weeks.  No rain in the forecast-finally-and we’re going to trot around, slowly at first, but then speed up into a canter, and when my smart, cute,  and witty instructor isn’t looking we’ll jump the fence.  To my surprise and gratitude I’ll hang on.  She’ll be yelling, “Kasey, what are you doing?!  Come back!”  We’ll ride up the trail, to a mountain top I’ve never been before, and as we climb I’ll be whispering into his ears, “Good job, boy, good job.  Keep goin’, boy, we can do it.”  Because I know that this particular horse gets scared on the trail, and within his strong, muscular frame he can feel how scared I am.  We’ll reach the crest of the mountain, and looking down into the valley of houses and beyond–far out into the ocean–we’ll both sigh heavily, and I will close my eyes so I can smell the brilliance of the crisp air.

We made it, boy.  We made it.

Off I go…swirling…and thinking of you.  So, friends, enjoy your dreams as much as I plan to enjoy mine.  Remember: life is short, so be happy, and give a chuckle…or let out a sigh.

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

12 thoughts on “I’m going to bed to dream”

  1. Much of our realities begin with dreams! Go for it!! So happy you are on the mend Kasey. I have been thinking of you a lot & meaning to send out a note. Missed your Tuesday Tip. Have a glorious weekend! Love & Hugs from NY xoxox !!

    1. Thanks, Karen! I’ll have a new Tuesday tip next week. I’m doing them every other week…I know my limitations on being able to commit to having one ready EACH Tuesday, LOL. Lots of hugs to you, too…Wish NY was closer so I could give you a hug in person. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Shannon. Funny…I had a wild dream completely different than what I expected for the first part of the night. Then….I had my horse dream-not the one I wrote about, but an awesome one nonetheless. Now, in just a few short hours I’ll get to ride in real time. Have a terrific weekend, and thanks so much for reading and sharing. Hugs! XOXO

  2. Hoping you have an amazing ride today, SWM! I am looking forward to a fun filled weekend as well. Also, so glad you’re feeling better…it is no fun being a single momma when you are under the weather. Still gotta get the work done! 🙂 xxxxx

    1. Yes, Tat2…that is correct. I think that’s why it took me so long to get well! I can’t wait to hear about your fun weekend, so be sure to share it in post. I’m gettin’ ready to ride in three hours. Yippee-ky-yay! Hugs out to you, friend! XOXO

  3. I’m sorry about your cousin, and about all the other strain described here. I hope tomorrow is fulfilling and relaxing both, giving you the strength to gallop onward even when you’re not on your horse–and until you don’t have to keep up at quite such a pace anymore . . .

    1. Thank you, Deb. I had an amazing ride yesterday. It was everything I needed to rejuvenate me for the weekend. I’m so grateful I have the ranch to go to. It’s been a true Godsend, and I feel incredibly grateful for something that gives me such peace. I hope you are doing well, too, and that Li’l D has taken to his mama’s beautiful baldness! XOXO

      ________________________________

  4. After the week you’ve had, I am happy you could find a little time to breathe. Your words are like a breath of fresh air! I love the last few lines. I hope you get more chances to find that peaceful feeling.

    1. Thanks so much, Maineiac! I had a great ride on Friday, which is really helping me get through the weekend. We all need to find that peaceful feeling at some point!

      ________________________________

Now I'd love to hear from you...

