Singleworkingmomswm’s Debut Theme Song!

Helllllo, SWM fans!  Ha, ha…Well, we made it back from Southern Cali in one piece, once again.  Mother’s Day weekend was a blast, and I hope each of you also enjoyed some “mommy” time or “mommy lovin'” time, too.  Below you will find a link to something pretty special, I believe.  It’s me in all my SWM glory for the first time, allowing you to witness the newest development on the SWM blog site.  Yes….A THEME SONG!  I’m getting braver as I tread these cyberspace waters, and I also figure, what do I have to lose except any possible secret hopes that someday I might hit the music scene and become famous in the last couple years of my thirties thus ending all financial strife for my little one and me…

No, but seriously, I love to sing, I love to play music…however, guitar is not my strong suit (that’d be drums and piano).  I’m teaching myself to play it, though, and getting a little bit better with each attempt.  Carrying an upright piano with me on the road can be cumbersome (laugh-track, please), so picking up the guitar is a necessity. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy this very raw version of the song, written just this past week, dedicated to single moms everywhere in the world, my very own beautiful mom, included.

There are moments where I’m on the brink of tears, moments when I hit the wrong chord, and moments of laughter at the thoughts running through my head (Why, oh why, am I letting this be videotaped?!).  I’m wearing my new favorite shirt designed by my sweet Maycee; oh, and you’ll see her elbow to the left of the screen throughout the footage.  I think it is quickly becoming a tradition for me to write a Mother’s Day song to sing each year (although last year’s didn’t make it to video, let alone to my blog).  And, in the off-chance you happen to know a digital studio recorder who could hook me up, well, I’m not too full of pride to decline the offer!

So, without further ado, I bring you:

Single Moms Rock by Kasey MacInnes, May 13, 2012 Videotaped by my very own Jack Hollum.  Click on the link if you dare:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qdyXZXpbFA&list=UUvdYQW4kpUSsD7AW92bIwAg&index=1&feature=plcp

And, thanks to all of you who read and follow this blog, whether avid commentators, primo “likers”, or silent viewers…I love writing here, I love hearing from you, and I love sharing this life’s journey through words, images, and now song.

 Don’t fear failure so much that you refuse to try new things. The saddest summary of a life contains three descriptions: could have, might have, and should have. -Author Unknown

XOXO-SWM

12 responses

      • Oh, that was awesome! You have such a good voice and I love how happy you look, all laughing with everyone. Amazing musical talent you have. And such a great mama to share that song.
        I also love to sing and I play the piano but haven’t worked up the nerve to videotape it.

      • AWESOME! So glad you enjoyed it, and that is so cool that you also love singing and playing the piano. Piano and drums are what I do best, but I grapple with the bass guitar, acoustic guitar and miscellaneous other instruments. Music is in my heart and soul, so it’s fun to share with others. Hey, if you can wear a green plaid jacket and twirl your baton, you can certainly videotape a song for us!! Thanks, again, Darla, for the compliments! 🙂

        ________________________________

Now I'd love to hear from you...

