Dad’s Who Rock….This One’s For You!

When I worked in retail many moons ago…one of my favorite experiences was seeing a young dad come into the store (junior girl’s apparel nonetheless) with his young wife, and he’d be the one carrying the baby in a baby backpack. Floppy hat (the dad…and the baby), stuffy in one hand, bottle in the other, and smiles for miles. I was young, myself, then. Not married (yet), no kids of my own (yet), and I soaked up the joyful expressions and coos and giggles of these little ones, beeming because they had dads who rocked. Dad’s who wanted to be there with them and take care of them. Dad’s who cared so much for their mommies that they were willing to be the baby carrier so the young ladies could shop to their hearts content.

I will be spending this Father’s Day weekend with my own dad-a first for many, many years. And, to add sprinkles on top I will also be spending it with my super special boyfriend. We will all be going to the local car show, which takes over the entire city grid, laughing, eating, and…well…car drooling. While my own dad wasn’t the baby backpack wearin’ kind, he’s been there for me always, willing to catch me if I fall and there to encourage me, even if I had to look in corners. As for my boyfriend, he wore the backpack, and he loved every minute of it, and given the chance he’d do it allllll over again, I’m willing to bet (willingness to bet based on previous stories heard).

And, to all of you single working moms who carry the backpacks, mow the lawns, cook the meals, bring home the bacon, take out the trash, kill black widows, dig for worms as well as endulge in tea parties, I hope you also enjoy a bit of Dad’s Day. After all, like the SWM’s theme song says, “We carry two jobs for the price of one.”

Happy Father’s Day! The dad who rocks is the kind of dad who’s a rock himself. Here’s to Y.O.U.!

XOXO-SWM

Ya, YOU!
Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

4 thoughts on “Dad’s Who Rock….This One’s For You!”

  1. Blessing to have strength, support AND love from a man- father, boyfriend, husband… hold on to it tight Kasey. Not everyone has that blessing in life. Happy father’s day to another SWM who wears many hats like me! xoxo

    1. Thanks, Karen. I had a wonderful weekend with them both, and it was such a treat to spend quality time alone with my pops for a change. Today I prepared for our upcoming camping trip this next weekend! 🙂 Hope you had a nice day, too! XOXO

      ________________________________

Now I'd love to hear from you...

