Wingspan

Two weeks ago Jack and I were on a much-needed date night, having not spent much more than a few hours together due to work schedules and other commitments.  We decided to visit “our spot” by the ocean…a precarious little hike down to the edge of a cliff (it is a bit scary for me, admittedly, but worth it) that flattens out to the perfect place to lay a blanket or beach towel and watch the waves and the wildlife that the surround water. Just before sunset and seemingly with the entire coastline to ourselves, we quietly observed all of the excitement. 

Pelicans flew in formation and dove into the sea somehow precisely pin-pointing their game, I’m certain.  How do they know where the fish are, we wondered?  It was magical to watch as they plummeted full speed, looking like cannon balls falling from the sky.  Some pelicans flew only several yards in front of us, their wingspan so wide as they glided effortlessly through the air. Seagulls swooped a few mere feet above our heads with no fear-after all, we were on their territory, inhabiting one of their prime resting locations.  They laughed loudly like little children, each group chattering about things that Jack and I would never understand, but deep inside we got the feeling they were laughing at us, or at least, I did.  Out in the distance Jack spotted a whale spouting, and we were able to follow it as it moved along with the tides…closer, then further out again…never touching the surface.  Just a small spray of water mysteriously sprinkling the seaweed.

Perhaps my favorite find under the warm, sunburned sky was a little sea otter to the left of us.  Had we remembered to bring our binoculars I’m sure we would’ve been able to “feel” his soft and fuzzy fur with our eyes.  He floated contentedly on his little back and had something in his hands for dinner. Closer and closer he drifted as the waves became larger and crashed into the shoreline with more force.  I watched him out there all alone, no other family or friends to be found.  He seemed so small and the vast waters so big, but regardless, he didn’t care one bit.  And, I thought to myself, “See him out there?  This little otter amongst sharks and whales, sea lions and sea weed, not a worry in the world.

The sun went down behind the hills, and Jack and I decided to stay put a while longer, continuing our quiet observation.  As dusk creeped in, the laughter of the seagulls and the sound of the waves grew louder.  The home of these wildlife creatures was expanding, and in the peace we watched like shadows in the lamplight, being careful not to disturb the rhythm of nightfall.

This week I’ve been thinking so much about that experience, about how often I find myself just watching: people on the streets, the trees in the hills, the vineyards ripening, wild horses in a pasture, my dogs sleeping, Maycee playing.  I watch, I wonder, and then I curl up into gratitude for the wingspan of all I’ve seen.

Photograph by Maycee

Wish me luck, Readers, as tomorrow I will be signing my first lease on a horse…a horse I will be able to ride whenever I want to, take care of, and who will allow my wings to continue to spread as I make my way through one sunset at a time.  I may not have the carefree nature of the otter or the stellar precision of the pelican, but I fall somewhere in between, and for now, this is enough.

Remember: life is short, so take flight, and while you’re soaring go ahead and give a chuckle.

14 responses

    • Oh, geez, thanks, Darla. What a super nice compliment, and I really appreciate it. I knew I had to write about that night…just have been waiting for some down time, finally! . 🙂 And, I know I will enjoy Hi-C (the horse). He’s pretty calm, he’s HUGE, and he’s an all around good boy! XOXO

  1. Kasey, I’m so excited for you!! Your own horse!! I can’t wait to read the stories about your riding adventures. And your date sounded perfect. I’m happy for you 🙂 Big hugs! Holly

    • Thanks, Holly! Jack is indeed a huge sweetheart, and we had such a great time. And, I’m super excited about my horse lease. I spent a good part of the weekend learning all of the ins and outs about him: priority number one, though, is that he needs to put on a significant amount of weight. No skinny horses on my watch! 🙂 XOXO

      ________________________________

  2. Wow, a little piece of heaven by the sea! Sounds so lovely, Kasey. All that wildlife peaceably passing by. Sounds like a wonderful place; a wonderful day. And the horse! How awesome!! I am super happy for you. Ride on and enjoy. xoxox Karen

Now I'd love to hear from you...

