And, I waved back with a smile…

This morning on my way to work I was hit by something in my car. Something. I have no idea what it was (but I know it wasn’t a “who” or a fuzzy creature, thank God). Driving along….singing a song…and BAMMMMMMMMMM! I felt and heard the thump and boom to the back of my car-my heart beating like ninety, my eyes scanning for any miscellaneous thing that might have come rolling out from underneath or behind or to the side or….What luck? My luck.

I pulled off to the side of the road and went onto a residential street to get my car out of the traffic and check to see what on earth had happened. Sure enough….my right rear tire was blown. Blown. Blown to smitherines. As soon as the AAA tow truck arrived and Mr. Tow Truck was looking at my tire, my poor tire, he said, “Uh, you gotta whole lot more than a blown tire here, I’m sorry to say. Look at this.” Yep, not only did my tire get ripped up, but the entire lower right side of my car was scraped and dinged, and the tire well busted. What on earth?!

Luckily, Mr. Tow Truck was able to put on the spare tire and tell me he thought the car was safe enough to drive but to file a claim right away as a no-fault collision as there was going to be a lot of repair needed to fix all of the issues. Luckily. Yep. So, I did as he suggested, and AAA being the great insurer they are, they started the claim, got me into a shop right away, and lined up a rental car that hopefully will cost me zippo. The only thing remaining? Oh, yeah, that darned $1,000 deductible. Bummer.

When the AAA adjuster told me to have a nice day (gosh, I sure will!) I was friendly, I was nice, and I said “Okay, thanks.”-tears welling up in my eyes. I was grateful I wasn’t hurt and very grateful my daughter wasn’t in the car with me. And, as Mr. Tow Truck drove away he waved to me, and I waved back with a smile…What else can you do, right?

I hope y’all had a wonderful Father’s Day yesterday whether you were with your dads, are a dad, were thinking of your dad, or play the role of a dad (like we single moms do a lot of the time). And, today, I hope your Monday began without the bang that mine did!

Life is short, –it happens, so be happy and count your blessings!

XOXO,
SWM

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

13 thoughts on “And, I waved back with a smile…”

  1. Act as if…… and fake it ’til you make it, my friend. Gosh it’s hard some times! Prayers & thoughts are with you & your sweet babe. xoxox NY

  2. Glad you are okay and it was only the car. What caused it? It’s nice that you got such good service. At those times when we are a bit unnerved, having good service can really make a difference.

    1. Thank you. πŸ™‚ I actually have no idea what caused the damage. I didn’t see anything in the road, not one thing, just heard a loud bang to the back of the car. When the tow-truck driver he said he was going to go back and see if he saw anything, but I never found out if he did. Yes, my insurance premiums have paid off, so I’m glad I pay my dues. πŸ™‚ The repair place said AAA is the best when it comes to getting their claims handled. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Hi there! I can not find your blog about the award you passed to me….I had begun to finally get going with it and now I can’t find it? I need all the instructions etc. I am sorry you bug you but help:)

    1. Sorry about that, HRCG. I was going through some of my posts and deleting them, and this one got in the mix! You should be able to view it now. “Inspired Minds Want to Know” is the title. πŸ™‚

Now I'd love to hear from you...

