Cleansing Rain

It’s been raining here.  In February, on the coast of California, finally some winter has arrived.  It’s been wet, it’s been wonderful, and everything smells so fresh!

IMG_0800

Yesterday, the sun came out in the afternoon, shining brilliantly through the trees.  I ran out from my office to look for the rainbow.

I knew one would be there.

And, it was.

IMG_0792

It’s been so dry here for so long.  The drout has everyone worried.  The lakes are almost below pumping level.  More wells are being dug in the vineyard.  The ground is thirsty, plants are dying, my skin is cracking like never before.   “We need rain.  We need lots and lots of rain to get out of this situation.”

Can you just feel the metaphorical nature of this?  I can. I do.

A pastor of mine from a few years ago used to say, “When it rains, think of your baptism. ”

I’ve always remembered.  And, yesterday I let the cleansing rain touch my face.

0602-154607 (2)

XOXO,

SWM

*”No diving from bridge” image courtesy of NY Times.

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

8 thoughts on “Cleansing Rain”

    1. When I lived in Humboldt, I didn’t enjoy the 9 months of rain, either. But, here, knowing that it rains and it passes, and this being the very first hard rain of the season, I’m rejoicing! It feels really good, and also puts me in the mood for baking. Yum!

  1. I am a sunshine, blue sky and heat kinda girl. We have been in drought conditions for I think we are going on 8 years now. As much as I don’t like the weather conditions right now, I am hoping for days of rain to fill up our rivers and lakes, I know you all are too.

    Lovely pictures.

    1. Yes, I am, too, Valentine. I love our sunny and warm weather here, especially on the Central Coast where it seems to be absolutely the perfect blend of sun and seasons most of the time. But, this rain has been huge, as it is so sad and scary to see the lakes almost completely dry. XOXO-Kasey

Now I'd love to hear from you...

