Full Circle-Classic SWM

Chief the Ham

Right now, here, today, I’m breathing a little easier.  It’s nice to share that.  I don’t know how long it will last, and truthfully, it has no bearing on what is happening in this moment.  A moment when I am breathing easier.

Last week was a full week.  We began harvest, which in and of itself is enough.  Maycee also started school.  The 5th grade.  I CANNOT believe it!  She was super excited to return, which as a parent, is a blessing.  She loves her friends, loves learning, and loves the environment.  And, with her anxiety at an all time low, she is able to fully enjoy everything a new year brings.   I also celebrated a birthday and felt the warmth and kindness of family and friends who sent cards, Facebook messages, and gifts.  In addition to all of this, I welcomed a roommate into our home-a decision I’ve been toying with for a few years but never felt 100% sure about trying.  How would it affect Maycee and our world as we know it? I’ve been needing/wanting extra income, but was this a viable solution?

Maycee 5th Grade 2

Right now, here, today, I am in awe of the happenings within my life lately.  Single parenting isn’t for sissies.  A single parent takes on two jobs with one body.  Unless you are in a situation of 50/50 custody or have family next door to help out, (I’m not, and I don’t) the day-to-day stress builds up, naturally, and finding balance is a struggle.  I’ve said this before.  I’ve experienced both sides, married with child and single with child, and I can honestly attest that there are significant differences.

This past year has proven a turning point for me.  Turning points can happen at any time.  I believe they are the result of faith, persistence, and surrender.  They don’t necessarily happen at what are deemed to be milestones in life such as reaching  a certain age, graduating from school, getting the perfect job or perfect home, getting married.  No….turning points come when least expected-when we aren’t looking.

I’ve spent the last seven years as a single mom trying to stay afloat, trying to do what is best for my daughter under any circumstance, keeping one foot moving forward even when my ankles feel shackled.  As I watched (for the umpteenth time) a favorite movie of mine last night, Under the Tuscan Sun, one of the characters in the movie said, “Terrible ideas….don’t you just love those?”  It made me chuckle as I thought of all of the “terrible ideas” I’ve had.  Some have been truly terrible.  Others….not so much.

Rescuing Fancy was a not-so-smart idea for a SWM like me, and at the time, met with scrutiny by plenty of people, myself included.  But, when I went with that decision last year, it was a turning point.  After putting her down in March due to illness, the turning point continued until it came full circle. Rescuing Fancy, going with a “terrible idea”, allowed so many fruitful situations to occur in my life, and by “fruitful”, I don’t mean solely financial.

We began riding two horses, one of which was offered to Maycee to ride for free; the other one I lease.  Just a few weeks ago, the owner sold Star to Maycee for $1.00 because she could see they had bonded and felt it was the right thing to do.  Along with the horse sale came most of her tack and gear worth hundreds of dollars (probably more).  Generosity abounded, and the essence of “pay it forward” was defined! Of course, now I was going to be paying for two horses…A TERRIBLE IDEA for a SWM, right?  But, I knew I couldn’t let Maycee down.  I work off the board for my horse at the barn, so I just had to figure out a way to cover the second.

New horse owner, Maycee!

New horse owner, Maycee!

I put an ad on Craig’s List offering my master bedroom for rent,  and within hours I had multiple inquiries.  After a couple of days I talked to the woman who is now our roomy and knew she was the right fit.  She’s an honest hard-working young woman who is pursuing a career in pharmacy and just needs a cheap space to call “home” while she finishes up her credentials and begins a new job–relocating all the way from Chicago to California!  The much-needed income from renting out the room ensures I can afford two horses, while the cheap price helps this gal out.  Win-win.  Maycee loves having her, too!

All of the friends we’ve made from rescuing Fancy are more than we can count.  These friends help babysit for me when I have to be at work during the holidays or “extra” days off during the school year.  They’ve helped freely with our horses and been there to listen when I need to let off some steam. Our bestest barn-buddy, K, takes us trail riding, works with Maycee on her horsemanship, makes us laugh, and relieves some of the pressure I feel just by being there for us.  BALANCE.

Right now, here, today, I’m breathing a little easier because many prayers have been answered in a way I couldn’t have imagined.  It is neat to look back over the years and see things in hind sight, see the progression, the connection, and the turning point come full circle in its own time.  Waiting hasn’t been easy, but it’s been worth it.

Readers, life is short, so be happy, and take a chance on a “terrible idea”.  Your turning point may just be around the next corner!

XOXO,

SWM

 

 

 

 

10 responses

  1. So happy for you! I love when our “terrible” ideas turn out to be the perfect next step in our path. And big congrats to Maycee — my parents are horse people and I know how much happiness horses bring to people. 🙂

  2. I do not know how many ways I could tell you how much I loved reading this one. It made me smile and my heart grow bigger. I am so happy for you, so pleased you are breathing easier. My heart is absolutely dancing in your light this evening as I right this. Huge Hugz 🙂

    XXX
    Val

  3. I smiled through this whole post! So many things to say, so I’m going to ramble for a moment. First, happy belated birthday to you and happy belated first day of 5th grade to Macyee! Second, I wonder if the universe is speaking to me, right now, through your post. I started riding horses when I was around Macyee’s age and have continued to do so on and off for years, but illness forced me to take an extended break. Just recently, I began feeling the itch return and knowing my body is well enough to ride, the wheels have been turning. Then, a friend of a friend just posted an offer for riding lessons at her barn nearby. Hmmm. Then, I watched one of my favorite movies (too!!), Under the Tuscan Sun this past weekend and start thinking about all the wonderful “terrible ideas” I’ve gone for. THEN, I read THIS while looking at the picture of those boots that make me drool. And, now the wheels are clicking along faster.

    I am sooo happy things are in a good place for you–because of the “terrible ideas” you had the courage to pursue. (Did you all weather the earthquake OK?) Sending big hugs!

    • Mary, I DEFINITELY think the universe is calling you to ride again. Taking lessons is the best way to ease back into it. I had a riding buddy that just started up again in her 50’s while I was beginning brand new in my late 30’s. She had taken a bad fall off a horse years and years prior and lost her confidence but missed it. She started slowly on good, steady lesson horses, and now she trail rides through the dunes here by the beach! you can do it, and I just bet you will find a passion to fill some of the spaces in your heart. Horses do that for us. Just being around them gives me peace. No earthquake felt here, luckily. And, thank you for all of the well wishes! Let me know if you take a lesson!! XOXO-Kasey

Now I'd love to hear from you...

