Inspired by…

Inspire: to fill (someone) with the urge or ability to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

I recently read a post from a blogging friend of mine about what she finds inspirational.  Of course, this got me thinking about my own life and what inspires me….to put one foot in front of the other, to keep on keepin’ on, to try new things, to do whatever it takes for my daughter to be happy, to believe in dreams.

Central Coast Sunshine

I had to think, “Am I inspired by ideas such as hope, faith, peace, or love?”  “Am I inspired by the ability to accumulate things, aka, money and tangibles?”  “Am I inspired by beauty as in a gorgeous sky, the flowing manes of horses, ocean landscapes, or the changing colors of the leaves?”

DSC01951

As I pondered this question of inspiration over the last few weeks I realized that while all of these make me smile (yes, even a little cha-ching in my pocket), none of them INSPIRE me.  Nope, I came to the conclusion that I am inspired by…

Joy.
My daily inspiration. XOXO

My daughter fighting through anxiety disorder at age 10 and making honor roll, my friends who selflessly help me muck 14 stalls in the dark so I can finish early and go home, my pastor who has endured illness and strife in her life yet persevered to help others, my mom who took care of my grandma for over 20 years with little appreciation shown, my sister who was determined to get a master’s degree despite potential obstacles, bloggers who expose their triumphs so I may empathize and learn, my boss who does what it takes to keep her employees satisfied and fulfilled,  fathers posting pics of their family vacations on Facebook with joy in their eyes, my dad saying, “You are a wonderful mother.”

PEOPLE.

Kasey on Hi C

 

 

 

 

 

When I think of all the people who have come into my life over the years as well as the ones who’ve always been there, I find it’s them, it’s their stories, it’s their support, their ideas, their shared experiences, their encouragement, and their love that inspires me.

Pretty darn well! (And, she knows how  much I love her, especially!)

Above all else.

People have inspired me to…

Learn piano, make the drum line, return to school after a teenage pregnancy, graduate with honors,  get a degree, believe in marriage, become a mom, survive divorce, buy a house, learn to ride horses, forgive, move forward, be an example to my daughter, seek God, accept change, pursue new goals, love with all of my heart and soul, not be afraid.

To name a few.

me n Jess
Friends inspire me by saying, “You’re such a cowgirl!”

 

I’m grateful for these inspirations, as without them, without all of these people, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

 

 

 

Now it’s your turn to share.  After all, life is short, Readers.   Seek inspiration, watch the evolution within yourself, oh, and give a chuckle along the way.

232323232fp;7;_nu=337____8_5_8_WSNRCG=35;5;8_4;_335nu0mrj[1]

XOXO,

SWM

Author: singleworkingmomswm

I love to write, and I love raising my daughter. The two combined have prompted me to create a blog about being a single working mom. Life's a trip, and I tend to take the windy roads.

10 thoughts on “Inspired by…”

  1. The leaves through the trees, snow falling softly through the sky, well-played music, a thoughtful lyric, a great line in a movie or TV show….you. You are amazing!

    1. And, I, you, Valentine! I’ve been wanting to write this post for awhile ever since I read yours. It really got my mind thinking, especially about how inspired I feel after I read one of your posts, the posts that I couldn’t or wouldn’t be brave enough to write, at least not in the way that you do. But, then I’m inspired to dig deeper and try harder and take risks. XXOO-Kasey

      1. Believe me Kasey, sometimes I am not brave either. Then I just have to scratch them out of my head and they wind up on the page.

        I am glad others read them, sometimes hating them, other times loving them and sometimes just causing them to stop and think.

        XX

  2. Being somewhat of a procrastinator, sometimes it takes a deadline to inspire me! When I am down and feel like a lump, I think of all the ways that God has blessed me, then I give myself a talking to, and then I get off my duff!

  3. Love this Kasey! You & your gal have been a source of inspiration to me for a long time now. 🙂 I also am inspired by kindness, a selfless word or act of encouragement from a total stranger. More on that soon! Inspiration is in the air! Hope you have a lovely holiday. xoxox Karen in NY

Now I'd love to hear from you...

