A Different Road

Back in mid-December on a puffy cloud day, Maycee was home sick.  We spent the hours resting, me by de-fault, and in the afternoon I decided to head over to her school to pick up her homework.  I left a little early to make sure I got there in time to find a parking space.  On my way, however, instead of going straight something within me said, “No need to rush….take a different road…”

I don’t travel, at least not in the way folks think of “traveling”.  I haven’t gone anywhere more than two hours away since, well, since I don’t know when.  To my mom’s, to my dad’s, to my sister’s, up the road, down the road, around the block….that’s the extent of it.  Mostly, this is because of money and time (in that order), and over the last couple of years my daughter’s anxiety has also played a part.  Honestly, it doesn’t bother me much, probably because I’m too busy to dwell.

I also have come to love where I live and still feel like a tourist needing directions.

On this puffy cloud day I took my curious mind’s advice and turned left onto a road I had always wanted to drive.  It was clear once I made the left why I was drawn to go this way, denying myself the opportunity for the past six years since moving to the Yellow Submarine.  Denying no more.

WP_20141218_13_27_21_Pro

For a gal who has a small-town heart, it’s befitting that I live within minutes of what is still considered an actual “town”.  Halcyon is the foundation of what became a bigger city, but the post office still operates today.  I had never gone inside until a couple of years ago, and now on this day, I traveled the road on which it sits.

WP_20141218_13_14_37_Pro

I felt a magical, whimsical presence within me…I imagined myself living in this quaint cottage.

WP_20141218_13_18_14_Pro

As I drove I marveled at the neighbors’ quiet contributions and the eclectic nature of design within each space.

WP_20141218_13_17_16_Pro

WP_20141218_13_19_36_Pro

To have your horse in the backyard, well, that is every horse person’s dream.  My momentary escape began, and I could smell the coffee brewing in the morning while Chief grazes on sweet green grass.

WP_20141218_13_20_12_Pro

Sunday morning services at 10:00.  The Temple of the People sounds like my kind of place.  I couldn’t see inside, but I wanted to…..

WP_20141218_13_17_27_Pro

I wondered…did a dad, playing with his children, decide to lean these logs up against the big old tree in teepee form?  Maybe a single mom?

WP_20141218_13_24_48_Pro

After coffee in the morning, I’d jump on Chief and ride up to my art-teacher friend’s home, pictured here.  We’d work on abstract water-color paintings, using the puffy clouds as our inspiration.  Then, I’d head back in the afternoon to work in the garden.

WP_20141218_13_25_40_Pro

WP_20141218_13_26_05_Pro

Upon pulling up to the cottage I’d see that Maycee had come for a visit.  I’d enjoy hearing all about the latest horse she was training, and I’d bring out homemade chocolate chip cookies, her favorite.

The garden can wait.

I so enjoyed my 10-minute drive on a different road.  I pulled up to the school just before 3:00, the end of the day…why did I wait so many years to see what was simply around the corner?

Funny how we are.

Now I wonder, what will I find the next time I decide to travel a different road?

Life is short, so don’t wait to do what presses on your heart, and every chance you can, give a chuckle!

XOXO,

SWM

3 responses

  1. ‘travel a different road…’ Not a bad idea. Easy to get into a rut whether we want to or have to, and become afraid of turning off the beaten path. We never know what’s around the next corner, maybe bad, but maybe good too. Hang a hard right! See what’s up ahead! Or, as Yogi Berra would say, “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.” Ha!

  2. Isn’t it funny how we ‘find’ things when we simply take the time to step away for even a minute? I love your little town! What a wonderful place you live in. What a nice dream you have woven.

    How I have missed seeing you here.

    • Thanks, Val! Yes, I really do love where I live now, and the more intricate little places I find the more I feel it is where I’m supposed to be. I daydream often…it is how I get away and “travel” whilst not leaving home. 🙂 I’ll always be around, even if it takes me time to return. 🙂 XOXO

Now I'd love to hear from you...

